Reference Groups

The Centre for Health Security draws on reference groups to provide strategic advice to inform the Health Security Initiative’s priorities, policies and investment decisions.


Technical Reference Group (TRG)

The PHR Technical Reference Group provides strategic advice and technical expertise and advice to guide progress on the Partnerships for a Healthy Region initiative.

Helen Evans
Helen Evans AO

Professor Helen Evans AO is an expert in public health and development, and Honorary Professor at Nossal Institute for Global Health, University of Melbourne.

Dr Rob Condon
Rob Condon

Dr Rob Condon is a public health physician and applied epidemiologist.

Kristine Macartney
Kristine Macartney

Professor Kristine Macartney is a paediatrician and Director of the National Centre for Immunisation Research and Surveillance.

Robyn Alders - Bio photo.jpg
Robyn Alders AO

Professor Alders AO is a veterinarian and Senior Consulting Fellow with the Chatham House Global Health Programme.

Maxine Whittaker - Bio photo (1).jpg
Maxine Whittaker

Professor Whittaker is a public health physician and health systems researcher, and Director of WHO Collaborating Centre for Vector Borne and Neglected Tropical Diseases.

Ines I Atmosukarto
Ines Atmosukarto

Dr Ines Atmosukarto is CEO of Lipotek, and expert in biotechnology. 

Wantanee Kalpravidh - Bio photo1.jpg
Wantanee Kalpravidh

Dr Wantanee Kalpravidh is a Doctor of Veterinary Medicine and expert in field epidemiology and transboundary animal disease.

Susan Sawyer - Bio photo.jpg
Susan Sawyer

Professor Susan Sawyer is a paediatrician and the Director of the World Health Organization (WHO) Collaborating Centre for Adolescent Health at the Royal Children’s Hospital.

Allen Cheng
Allen Cheng

Professor Allen Cheng is Professor/Director of Infectious Diseases at Monash Health and the School of Clinical Sciences at Monash University.

Setareki Macanawai - Bio photo.JPG
Setareki Macanawai

Mr Setareki Macanawai is the CEO of the Pacific Disability Forum, and an expert and advocate for disability inclusive development.

Colleen Lau
Colleen Lau

Professor Colleen Lau is a clinician, NHMRC Fellow, and Professorial Research Fellow at The University of Queensland.

Anushka Patel
Anushka Patel

Professor Anushka Patel is a cardiologist, and Chief Executive Officer of The George Institute for Global Health.

Ian Anderson - Bio photo.jpg
Ian Anderson AO

Professor Ian Anderson AO is the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) at the University of Tasmania, recognised for distinguished service to the Indigenous community.

Janine Mohamed - Bio photo.jpg
Janine Mohamed

Adjunct Professor Janine Mohamed is the CEO of the Lowitja Institute, with extensive experience in the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health sector.